Areas and technical committees of involvement

All of the products and services we buy and use in our everyday lives have to meet certain standards of safety and quality. In Europe, these standards are developed and agreed by the three officially recognized European Standardization Organizations: the European Committee for Standardization (CEN), the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC) and the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI).

Together, CEN and CENELEC provide a platform for the development of European Standards and other technical specifications across a wide range of sectors. A quarterly report on the CEN and CENELEC activities is presented in ‘CEN and CENELEC in figures’, which include the standards publication.

While a number of standards affect workers and working conditions to varying degrees, the effectiveness of trade union participation requires a selection of the most relevant topics and corresponding Technical Bodies. Following consultation of ETUC affiliates, the ETUC has selected to participate in those standardisation fields which directly affect workers. 


List of the selected Technical Committees in which the ETUC participates:



‘Ladders’ (CEN/TC 93)

Protective clothing (CEN/TC 162)

Maintenance services (CEN/TC 319) 

Facility Management services (CEN/TC 348) 

ICT Professionalism & Digital Competences (CEN/TC 428) -ONLY MONITORING

Cabin air quality on civil aircraft (CEN/TC 436)

Private security services (CEN TC 439) 

“Horizontal standards for the provision of services” (CEN/TC 447) 

Cycles - Cargobikes (CEN/TC 333)

Climate Change (CEN/TC 467)

  • WG 1 ‘Mitigation’

EC Multi-Stakeholder Platform on ICT 

Artificial Intelligence (CEN-CENELEC JTC 21)

Digital Sovereignty (CEN-CENELEC Workshop (WS))

 Artificial Intelligence (ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 42)

  • JWG 1 ‘Governance implications of AI’
  • WG 1 ‘Foundational Standards’
  • WG 3 ‘Trustworthiness’

General ergonomics principles (ISO/TC 159/SC 1)

Human Resources Management (ISO/TC 260)

Occupational health and safety management (ISO/TC 283)

Governance of organisations (ISO/TC 309)

Ageing Societies (ISO/TC 314)

Sharing Economy (ISO/TC 324) - ONLY MONITORING